Mortgage Balance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mortgage Balance

Just finished my long chapter 13.Received a letter from the trustee letting know when to resume our mortgage payment which was included in our plan. The claim from the mortgage company was 100k. In our plan we paid over 44k which left a balance of around 55k. Our mortgage company says that we owe 87k from the statements that we have been receiving. If for the past 5 years we were not charged interest and the 44k was applied to the principal how could we owe 87k. Ditech is our mortgage company and they won't give us any information on this issue. We want to sell our house and would appreciate any information on this issue. This is my first time posting to this forum. Thanks in advance for the help.

You must pay interest on your secured debt during a Chap 13 when you are retaining the property. Your plan payments should have covered your regular mortgage payments, including principal and interest and tax and insurance if they are part of your payment. If you were behind on your mortgage, the arrears paid in the plan would also continue to accrue interest.
    Last edited by LadyInTheRed; 06-02-2016, 08:21 AM.
    LadyInTheRed is in the black!
    Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
    $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Comment

Yes the plan payments did cover the mortgage payments and there was some arrears that were paid in a separate claim from the mortgage company. So my question is the 44k amount that was shown as being paid and submitted on the cure report from the trustee to Ditech not deducted from the the amount of the claim that the mortgage company submitted for the chapter 13

Comment