top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advise on Student, CC, and Medical Debt...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advise on Student, CC, and Medical Debt...

I'm 30k in debt... 15k Private Student Loans, 5k Federal Student Loans, 6k Credit Card, 2k Medical Debt. I've been a student for the past 2 years, and I'm not going to be completing my degree at this point. My student loans will come due the 1st of the year. Due to health and financial troubles I'm having to leave school in san diego and move back to oregon. My only source of income right now is a social security check for $1100 due to my being disabled. Is bankruptcy a realistic option for my situation? what chapter should I be researching?

Those student loans will survive bk.
    Don't file bk over $8K. Your best option is to increase your income.

Comment

I agree, you shouldn't file BK on a $8k debt...
      May 2008 Hired 1st Attorney/Stopped paying CCs
      May 21, 2009 Retained 2nd Attorney
      May 28th - Filed for Ch 7 (FINALLY!)
      9/11/09 - DISCHARGED!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by keepmine View Post
        Those student loans will survive bk.
        Don't file bk over $8K. Your best option is to increase your income.
        The poster indicated that he/she is disabled and only receiving Social Security, probably SSI - which probably will be reduced when he/she moves from San Diego to Oregon.

Comment

Is there any way you can get schlolarships/grants from low-income or disability to finish your degree?

I would wait for the medical and credit card debt to go to collections and offer a settlement.

Consider stop paying minimums and start squireling away money for a settlement.

I wouldn't worry too much about your federal loan but keep an eye out for that private loan. They mushroom wildly.