How long can you stay after F/C

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How long can you stay after F/C

If there is a home foreclosure, say, with a sale date of mid April, how long after that can you stay in the home?

It depends on the foreclosure laws in your state and the foreclosure practices of your mortgage lender when they likely already have more foreclosed homes on their rolls than they know what to do with.

Check your state's foreclosure laws here - http://www.mortgage-investments.com/...osure-laws.htm .Scroll down the page to see your state's specifics.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Okay, it's Michigan. 60 process days and 30 sale publication days, whatever that means. Redemption period is 30-365.

Comment

You can stay in the home during the entire foreclosure process, the house is still YOURS until the sale date.

After the sale date you can stay in the house until someone goes to the trouble to evict you. That could be 1 month, that could be one year.

Most people will tend to move on or around the sale date. If your state has a post sale date redemption period, you can usually stay in the house during that time.
        Last edited by HHM; 03-19-2009, 05:25 AM.

Comment

Bit of a risk to stay (with no mortgage payments!) if they can kick you out.

Comment

Originally posted by spearmint View Post
            Bit of a risk to stay (with no mortgage payments!) if they can kick you out.
            Risky how?

Comment