Filing 7 with mortgage past due

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Filing 7 with mortgage past due

Here is the situation: ready to file chapter 7 but worried about being 30+ days past due on mortgage.

I have been running 28 days late for 3 months since spouses stroke and have been working on getting caught up, but when the car called it quits that put me in a position of either buy a car or lose job and therefore missing this months payment. So it will be 60 days past due at the end of this month.

I will be reaffirming the mortgage and a car loan. With everything else out of the way and not attaching bank accounts and such that will be no problem.

So should I work out a forebearance with my lender to bring payments current before filing? Can I continue to make payments during the case?

The lender is Flagstar Bank. FHA fixed @ 7%, balance below 100k and had the loan since 2004. Anyone dealt with them in a similar situation? How easy is it to get a forebearance with them? If they agree to it I would like to roll 3 payments to the end of the loan, file a 7 and be happy campers.

Our income is VA disability and my part time job. The house is worth just about what is owed at this point.

Oh yeah; passed Means way below median, no asset case, filing Pro Se.

Not getting further behind on house or having them do something horrible like start foreclosure is biggest worry - do NOT want to lose the house.

Thanks for any input!

I think the bank would be willing to work with you after discharge - generally, they would prefer to have the money rather than the collateral, and I doubt they would want your home on their books. However, you may want to look into a Chapter 13 even if you are under median.
    C7 Filed: 2009-11-06 | 341: 2009-12-14: | DISCHARGED: 2010-02-09
    Condo: Walked away due to 2nd mortgage intransigence; 1st foreclosed. Now totally DEBT FREE!!

Comment