freaking out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

freaking out

Hi I'm new to all this and having a very hard time. My story as briefly as I can make it: my husband and I have been self employed for about the last eleven years. The economy has basically forced us to close our business, we own a commercial building in addition to our house and we are losing both to foreclosure. My husband is now going to look for a job in another state after being out of the workforce for some time. I understand that we can only have 300.00 between us when we file the papers. I have no idea how to live until he gets a job, or where we'll live. I have some part time work, but it's only about 500.00 a month. I'm grateful for it, but I know it won't support us. Three kids 19, 16, and 12. We had some money in the business account when we closed it (less than a week ago) and we were trying to find a way to save some of that so I can get myself and the kids to the other state. We went in to see the lawyer today to file and were a little freaked out (okay a lot) by the time we left. We have not filed yet because he didn't have some of our creditors in the paperwork and has to add them, but now I figure we have to use this money before we can file. I feel like I'm rambling and not making any sense. Anyone???

First thing you do is take a deep breath and calm down. This is just money-your creditors can't eat you.
    I'd suggest not filing until you 2 have your finances stablized. After all, you still have to support your family post bk. You don't want to file and 6 months fom now somebody gets seriously ill and you have no insurance and you already played the bk card.
    BK will still be there when you are both employed and can support yourself without access to credit.
    I'd use the money from the business account to support yourself until you land jobs.

Comment