Where Do I Start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where Do I Start?

I am new to this. I am just now coming to the realization that I'm going to file bankruptcy. I'm pretty scared and I really don't know where to start. I assume I need a lawyer? How do I know who is good and who isn't? My brother has filed before and I have to much pride because I am embarrassed to ask him who he retained. Can anyone here push me in the right direction? Thanks for any advice given.

Also a little bit about my situation.

I am not married and have no children.
    I do live with my fiance though, for quite sometime.
    I don't have a car in my name or a house.
    I have about 21K in unsecured credit card debt.
    Haven't worked since August.

I know I put myself in this situation and it is my fault.

You need to set up some free consults with several attorneys. I would actually talk to your brother about your plans. He's going to be a great source of information for you.
    Stopped Payings CC's: 8/14/2009 | Retained Attorney: 9/23/2009 | Filed CH 7: 12/7/2009 | 341 Meeting: 1/21/2010 - Complete | Discharged: 4/9/2010
    "One person pretends to be rich, yet has nothing; another pretends to be poor, yet has great wealth."

Comment

Nobody is judging you, and "fault" is irrelevant to filing for bankruptcy. Here are some initial things to consider:

1. If you live with your fiance, your fiance's income and contribution to expenses will be considered in regards to the means test. If you do not want to include your fiance's income and contribution to expenses, then expect to be heavily questioned about why your fiance is not contributing to expenses.

2. 21k is not a lot of debt to file on, but that all depends on your circumstances. It sounds like you are judgement proof at the moment. What is triggering your desire to file now?
      You can't take a picture of this. It's already gone. ~~Nate, Six Feet Under

Comment