High Car Payment and UST

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

High Car Payment and UST

Does anyone know the answer to this - my attorney is on vacation this week!

I have a high car payment of 850 per month. I am a Realtor and I use my car to show clients listings. I sell primarily in the higher end space. The US Trustee's office sent me a request for information on when I started leasing the car, why, and how much I write it off for taxes (I write of 50% every year).

Can the trustee object to my car payment? Yes, I know it is high, but I can't drive my clients around in a junker. I asked my lawyer about this when we first met and he thought it wouldn't be a problem since it is a expense for my job.

Yes, your car payment will be an issue. Take a look at this memorandum in the Middle District of FL that discusses the implications of a high car payment in BK. http://www.hillsboroughbankruptcy.co...pAllow.me3.htm

You could offer to reaffirm the debt, then renogtiate the payment with the creditor - see if they will drop the payment. It is possible. If they don't you can surrender. You don't have to get a junker. There are a lot of vehicles between junker and Mercedes (or whatever you drive). The measure of a successful agent is the number of closings - not the car they drive.
    Last edited by StartingOver08; 09-04-2009, 05:41 AM.
    Filed CH 7 9/30/2008
    Discharged Jan 5, 2009! Closed Jan 18, 2009

I am not an attorney. None of my advice is legal advice in any way..

Comment

The TT can object to anything he/she wants.

It seems the TT is only asking for supporting documents or statements to allow your $850 payment. Most likely he'll assign $425 to your personal vehicle ownership expense and the balance is business related. I don't see a problem.

Now if you were some schmuck who delivered pizzas for a living it might be an issue.