Paying back on a 5 year for a CH 13.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am in debt around 72000 unsecured. I talked with my first lawyer and he mentioned we would have to payback a minimum of 10% (7,200) on a 5 year plan. Is this true?

Originally posted by jlasky View Post
    I am in debt around 72000 unsecured. I talked with my first lawyer and he mentioned we would have to payback a minimum of 10% (7,200) on a 5 year plan. Is this true?
    Until a lawyer actually completes the Means Test, files your Ch 13 case, and it's confirmed by the trustee, it's impossible to tell how much your payback % to creditors might be.

I would be wary of any lawyer who glances at your income, asset values, exemptions, and living expenses, then whips out a payback % figure. (Frankly, the final payback % depends on which of your creditors actually file claims to receive payments anyway.)
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

I believe if you choose a longer period than 36 months then there is a minimum but not sure what it is....Anyone?

Comment

Originally posted by Logan View Post
        I believe if you choose a longer period than 36 months then there is a minimum but not sure what it is....Anyone?