When husband and wife file but one does all the finances

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When husband and wife file but one does all the finances

I have this horrible thought that my husband will stick his foot in it at the 341 meeting. It will be some time before it happens but it is really making me worried.

In our 27 years of marriage, he hasn't opened a bill, paid a bill and has rarely written a check. He uses the debit card once a week at the grocery store.
    He is paid weekly and hands the check to me. I make the deposits for him and I do deposits for my business. He just signs our tax returns and never even looks at them.

He is not completely in the dark because he knows my business has gone in the crapper, especially when I said "we can't afford a new car!"

What makes me worry is he said this when I told him that we needed to file bankruptcy: I have been telling you for 20 years that you were going bankrupt. LOL . I said, for heavens sakes don't ever say that!

So my question. Can one person do all of the talking except for the basic questions?

BTW- I dread doing the online counseling sessions. He doesn't have any idea what our house payments are or anything else. However, we are not going into BK because of frivolous spending or living above our means. It's all because my business tanked.

We will be filing soon and I do ALL the finances; budgeting, paying bills, etc. I am filing separately (comm property state) as recommended by our atty, plus the student loans are mine (though not dischargeable & my spouse is unemployed)...anyhow, I guess I never thought they'd ask my spouse questions since I'm the filer although he'll be present. Regardless I will do all the talking unless he's specifically asked a question and he knows "less is more"- ie don't say more than you need to!!!

Good luck!

Comment

Originally posted by adm View Post